Adams County Plans Four-Day Schedule and New Safety Measures When Re-Opening Buildings on June 2

As part of its COVID-19 emergency response and recovery strategy, Adams County has scheduled a re-opening of county buildings beginning on Tuesday, June 2. Most county buildings – including the Government Center, Human Services Center, and Motor Vehicle locations – will be closed on Mondays as the county transitions to a four-day operational schedule, although some departments and elected offices will maintain their current schedules.

County buildings will have expanded hours – from 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. – on Tuesdays through Fridays to serve residents, and county staff will work remotely on Mondays. Residents can also access many county services online at under the Save A Trip menu at the top, and the county encourages use of the website to handle these services whenever possible to minimize in-person visits.

“This is an unprecedented time, and the safety and health of county residents and employees is always our top priority,” said County Manager Raymond Gonzales. “When we re-open our facilities to the public, we will have several new measures in place to prevent the spread of the virus.”

Beginning June 2, all employees and residents entering county buildings will have their temperatures taken, and anyone registering a fever of 100.4 or higher, or exhibiting COVID-19 symptoms, will be denied entrance. Anyone entering county buildings will be required to wear a mask or face covering and practice social distancing by staying at least six feet apart. The county will display signs outside entrances with these new requirements. See all building entry requirements here.

The four-day week also provides the county with significant cost savings, and by adding earlier and later hours on Tuesdays through Fridays, the county will add flexibility to its schedule for the community.

“We are piloting these new hours through the end of 2020,” Gonzales said. “At that point, we will review all data and input from residents and employees to determine if we will continue the four-day schedule.”

Access Adams Online at, to take care of many county services from the comfort of your own home, and for those needing resources for aging adults, childcare, food security,  healthcare, housing, small businesses, and unemployment during this time, please visit


About Adams County Response & Recovery Efforts

As part of a COVID-19 emergency management response and recovery strategy, Adams County created seven Response & Recovery Teams and launched a new website dedicated to providing key resources to support residents and businesses. Response & Recovery focus areas include aging services, business support, childcare for critical personnel, food security and basic essentials, housing, support for the unemployed and future workforce, and uninsured and healthcare access.

About Adams County

With rich traditions and history, Adams County offers the best of suburban and rural life – vibrant cities, quiet towns, and miles of recreation. Located in the Denver metro area, Adams County is the state’s 5th largest county serving a population of over 500,000 residents. Adams County is home to the cities of Brighton, Commerce City, Federal Heights, Northglenn, and Thornton; portions of Arvada, Aurora, and Westminster: the town of Bennett; and a portion of the town of Lochbuie. Unincorporated communities include Henderson, Strasburg, and Watkins. Stay up to date on the latest county news and information on, Facebook, Twitter, Nextdoor, and Instagram.