County Launches to Highlight Opportunity Zones

Adams County has launched, a site that showcases the county’s Opportunity Zones and connects developers and investors with resources and community data to help develop these areas.

The federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 established the Opportunity Zones program with the goal of encouraging economic development in urban and rural areas that have not kept pace with the rest of the county’s growing economy. The program provides tax incentives for private investors to direct unrealized capital gains into funds dedicated to projects within these zones. To provide guidance and vision for the development of the nine zones within Adams County, the Board of Commissioners has created an Opportunity Zones Task Force.

“Adams County worked with our municipal, nonprofit, and private sector partners to develop a program that meets the needs of the community and ensures no one is left behind,” said Board of Commissioners Chair Emma Pinter. “These areas offer a great chance for businesses and investors to work with the community on a mutually beneficial partnership.”

Adams County contains nine Opportunity Zones, two in unincorporated areas of the county and seven located within municipality partners. Visit to view an interactive map of all nine locations and their zoning designations, school districts, water and sanitation districts, flood zones, and more.

“In our pursuit of becoming the most innovative and inclusive county in the United States, Adams County believes Opportunity Zones set the stage for economic prosperity,” said County Manager Raymond Gonzales, a member of the Opportunity Zones Task Force. “As one of the fastest-growing counties in America, we are positioned to become the economic development hub of Colorado, and we are committed to doing so in a way that puts the community first.”

The county’s Opportunity Zones Task Force is building a successful framework for development in these nine areas that is innovative in its approach and inclusive for the community. The Task Force has partnered with the Opportunity Exchange to provide a tool for local businesses and entrepreneurs who are seeking capital to connect with Qualified Opportunity Zone Funds and turn their projects into reality. Visit if you are interested in participating or investing in an Opportunity Zone within Adams County.

“These nine areas are prime locations within the county for economic development,” said Commissioner Steve O’Dorisio, who also serves on the Opportunity Zones Task Force. “The members of the task force are looking forward to meeting with community groups and stakeholders to get input on the best way to move forward.”

If you have any questions about Opportunity Zones or would like more information about getting involved, contact Max Daffron, Economic Development Administrator, at 720.523.6820 or


With rich traditions and history, Adams County offers the best of suburban and rural life – vibrant cities, quiet towns, and miles of recreation. Located in the Denver metro area, Adams County is the state’s 5th largest county serving a population of 500,000 residents. Adams County is home to the cities of Brighton, Commerce City, Federal Heights, Northglenn, and Thornton; portions of Arvada, Aurora, and Westminster: the town of Bennett; and a portion of the town of Lochbuie. Unincorporated communities include Henderson, Strasburg, and Watkins. Stay up to date on the latest county news and information on, Facebook, Twitter, Nextdoor, and Instagram.